Helsinki Metropolitan Area Cooperation Group

The Helsinki Metropolitan Area Cooperation Group is a cooperation body of the highest elected officials and civil servants of the cities in the Helsinki Metropolitan Area. Its activities are based on the Cooperation Agreement between the cities in the Helsinki Metropolitan Area approved by the city councils of Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa and Kauniainen.

The purpose of the Cooperation Agreement is to improve the international competitiveness of the Helsinki Metropolitan Area, develop regional cooperation and metropolitan policy in the Helsinki region, and shared advocacy for the interests on a national level.

The agreement also promotes cooperation between the cities in matters related to land use, housing and transport as well as improves the services of the cities and coordination of joint corporations’ ownership steering. The agreement is valid until 2021.

The members of the Cooperation Group include the Mayor and Chief Executive Officer of Helsinki, the Mayors of Espoo, Kauniainen and Vantaa, and elected officials appointed by the City Board of whom four come from Helsinki, three from Espoo, three from Vantaa and one from Kauniainen. The Cooperation Group meets at least twice a year with the Mayor of Helsinki acting as the chairperson of the meeting.

Members of the Cooperation Group (in Finnish)

SHARE:  14.12.2017 10:18